What is Biometric Data?
Biometric data is information that is related to a person’s human characteristics, which can be used to identify that person. Common forms of biometric data that you may use in your daily life include fingerprints, veins in your palm, face recognition, and iris or retina recognition. When Keyo talks about “Biometric Data”, we are referring to any physical information we can collect about you, in order to identify you (such as your palm print) and provide the Services(i.e., want to pay for goods or services using Keyo).
How does Keyo collect your Biometric Data?
When you sign up for a Keyo account, you will provide certain Biometric Data at a Keyo kiosk. Keyo will then encrypt your Biometric Data and store it on Keyo’s data servers, which Keyo will use to identify you when you want to use the Services.
Is your Biometric Data secure?
How does Keyo use your Biometric Data?
When you use the Services, you will provide Biometric Data using an input device designed for that purpose. Your Biometric Data will then be encrypted and sent to Keyo, where we will check the Biometric Data provided at the point of sale and compare it with the Biometric Data we have on file for you. If it is a match, your transaction will be approved and your account will be charged for the purchase you are making.
Does Keyo share or sell your Biometric Data?
Keyo does not sell your Biometric Data to any third parties. Keyo may work with third parties to provide you with the Services, but only if it is necessary. Keyo only shares your Biometric Data if a third party has a legitimate need to have it, as long as those needs are related with the process of your Services. Keyo has agreements with any third parties that will receive your Biometric Data that requires them to keep your Biometric Data secret and secure.
How long does Keyo keep your Biometric Data?
Keyo keeps your Biometric Data as long as you have an active account with Keyo. Your account is considered “active” as long as you have made at least one purchase using Keyo within the last year (unless you specifically request that we close your account sooner).
What happens to your Biometric Data after you close your account?
After you close your account (or your account automatically closes, as described above), Keyo will keep your Biometric Data on file for up to one year, for reasons including fraud prevention. Keyo will permanently destroy your Biometric Data on or before the one-year anniversary of your cancelling your account (or the lapse of your account). After your Biometric Data is destroyed, you will need to re-enroll (and provide your Biometric Data to Keyo again) before you can use the Keyo Services.